Antibiotic resistance - is livestock farming a health risk?

About the event

Antibiotic resistance ranks as one of the most severe health issues in the future for humans. Moreover, livestock farming is well known as one of the significant users in the past, but what about now? How are authorities and regulations changing the use of antibiotics – and does it change the risk of resistances? The effectivity of antibiotics is with no doubt a huge success story for human and animal health. What can be learned from the antibiotic mode of action for an antibiotic-free future? A multitude of alternatives are already available on the market but where are they leading? These questions should be discussed in a holistic way at the Kaesler Forum.

The Kaesler Forum is a unique event in cooperation with the institute of animal nutrition of the Freie Universität Berlin. Right next door to the newly opened Veterinary Centre for Resistance Research (VCR²) and the only accredited FAO Reference Centre for Antimicrobial Resistance in Germany. To meet the aim of a holistic discussion an international scientific advisory board of different European experts will ensure to bring the latest results regarding antibiotic use in livestock production and insights into all the challenges around it. The Kaesler Forum offers a platform for exchange and controversial discussion between science and practice and is looking out for solutions for modern animal nutrition.

Building bridges between industry, authorities and practice the event is open for everyone who wants to know more about the status of science and discuss new feeding concepts to reduce antibiotics in livestock production. As discussing new opinions is best done in person we are optimistic to be able to meet each other in person in March 2022 despite the current Corona pandemic.

 

Register now

Location

Seminaris Campushotel Berlin

With its home on the campus of the Free University, the Seminaris CampusHotel Berlin is located in a place that transforms a great deal of knowledge into new goals and projects. The attached Event & Conference Center right next door will implement all necessary hygiene procedures.for a safe event. Rooms are available from 110€/night onwards.

Topic Speaker Organization
Session 1: Global Antibiotic (AB) usage in livestock farming
In order to find ways for the future one needs to look at the past and current use of antibiotics in different parts of the world and different species. What makes them so successful and what makes them so dangerous?

Speakers are: Prof. Thomas Van Boeckel, Dr. Ferdinand Entenfellner

   
Session 2: Nutritional strategies on livestock health
Functional nutrition to boost animal health is an available tool for producers to decrease the need for antimicrobials in animal. How the current knowledge can be implemented as optimal practices in animal nutrition? To what extent these nutritional practices could allow the reduction of antimicrobials?

Speakers are: Dr. Hyun Lillehoj, Prof. Mick Bailey, Alexandra de Athayde

   
Session 3: Transmission, monitoring and surveillance of Antimicrobial resistance (AMR)
What are recent insights and emerging frameworks of various multi-level factors influencing AMR within livestock production system? What are the current methodological challenges and knowledge gaps? What should be the criteria for an optimal AMR monitoring program?

Speakers are: Dr. Noelle Noyes, Dr. Pierre-Alexandre Beloeil

   
Session 4: Antibiotic usage and housing management from practitioner perspective
When and to what extent AB application in the field makes sense? Is it possible to maintain animal welfare without any AB use? What type of stabling uses the lowest AB? How farm biosecurity can be linked with animal health, production and AB usage?

Speakers are: Prof. Jens Peter Nielsen, Prof. Nicole Kemper, Prof. Jeroen Dewulf

   
Session 5: Solutions of tomorrow and future trends
What can be expected for the future of livestock farming from feed and pharma industry? Should we remain hopeful with the concept of precision livestock farming and its implementation in the farm? How modern genetic breeding concepts and genomic tools could help with more disease-resistance livestock?

Speakers are: Prof. Tomas Norton, Dr. Pieter Knap, Dr. Simon Lillico, Dr. Eva-Maria Saliu

 

Speakers

Dr. Ferdinand Entenfellner

Tierarztpraxis Entenfellner GmbH

Dr. Hyun Lillehoj

USDA

Prof. Jeroen Dewulf

Ghent University

Prof. Mick Bailey

University of Bristol

Prof. Nicole Kemper

TiHO Hannover

Dr. Noelle Noyes

University of Minnesota

Dr. Pieter Knap

Genus-PIC

Dr. Simon Lillico

The Roslin Institute

Dr. Tomas Norton

KU Leuven

The poster session of the Kaesler Research Award gives an insight into the latest research results from universities and institutes from all over Europe. Strategies and ideas around antibiotic reduction in ruminants, swine and poultry are highly welcomed.

Young researchers will have the opportunity to present their research as a poster to the critical eye of the scientific advisory board as well as the people with vast practical experience in the industry during the event.

 

Submit Abstract

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Jürgen Zentek

Freie Universität Berlin

Prof. Paolo Trevisi

Bologna University

Prof. Cristina Castillo

University of Santiago de Compostela

Prof. Lothar Kreienbrock

University of Veterinary Medicine in Hannover

Prof. Charlotte Lauridsen

University of Aarhus

In cooperation with

Antibiotic resistance - is livestock farming a health risk?

Über das Forum

Antibiotikaresistenzen zählen zu den schwerwiegendsten Gesundheitsproblemen der Zukunft für den Menschen. Darüber hinaus ist die Tierhaltung als einer der wesentlichen Verwender in der Vergangenheit bekannt, aber wie sieht es heute aus? Wie verändern Behörden und Vorschriften den Einsatz von Antibiotika - und verändert sich dadurch das Risiko von Resistenzen? Die Wirksamkeit von Antibiotika ist zweifelsohne eine große Erfolgsgeschichte für die Gesundheit von Mensch und Tier. Was lässt sich aus der Wirkungsweise von Antibiotika für eine antibiotikafreie Zukunft lernen? Eine Vielzahl von Alternativen ist bereits auf dem Markt, aber wohin führen sie? Diese Fragen sollen auf dem Kaesler Forum ganzheitlich diskutiert werden.

Das Kaesler Forum ist eine einzigartige Veranstaltung in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Tierernährung der Freien Universität Berlin. In direkter Nachbarschaft zum neu eröffneten Veterinärmedizinischen Zentrum für Resistenzforschung (VCR²) und dem einzigen akkreditierten FAO-Referenzzentrum für antimikrobielle Resistenz in Deutschland. Um dem Anspruch einer ganzheitlichen Diskussion gerecht zu werden, wird ein internationaler wissenschaftlicher Beirat aus verschiedenen europäischen Experten dafür sorgen, dass die neuesten Ergebnisse zum Antibiotikaeinsatz in der Nutztierhaltung und Einblicke in die damit verbundenen Herausforderungen vermittelt werden. Das Kaesler Forum bietet eine Plattform für den Austausch und die kontroverse Diskussion zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis und hält Ausschau nach Lösungen für die moderne Tierernährung.

Als Brücke zwischen Industrie, Behörden und Praxis ist die Veranstaltung offen für alle, die mehr über den Stand der Wissenschaft erfahren und neue Fütterungskonzepte zur Reduzierung von Antibiotika in der Tierhaltung diskutieren wollen. Da man neue Meinungen am besten persönlich bespricht, sind wir optimistisch, uns trotz der aktuellen Corona-Pandemie im März 2022 persönlich treffen zu können.

Jetzt anmelden

Location

Seminaris Campushotel Berlin

Mit seinem Standort auf dem Campus der Freien Universität befindet sich das Seminaris CampusHotel Berlin an einem Ort, der viel Wissen in neue Ziele und Projekte umsetzt. Im angeschlossenen Event & Conference Center gleich nebenan werden alle notwendigen Hygienemaßnahmen für eine sichere Veranstaltung umgesetzt. Zimmer sind ab 119€/Nacht verfügbar.

 

 

Topic Speaker Organization
Session 1: Antibiotika und antimikrobielle Resistenz (AMR) in der Tierhaltung
Um Wege für die Zukunft zu finden, muss man sich den vergangenen und aktuellen Einsatz von Antibiotika in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt und bei verschiedenen Tierarten ansehen. Was macht sie so erfolgreich und was macht sie so gefährlich?
Referenten sind: Prof. Thomas Van Boeckel, Dr. Ferdinand Entenfellner
   
Session 2: Fütterungsstrategien für die Tiergesundheit
Funktionelle Tierernährung ist ein möglicher Weg um den Bedarf an Antibiotika in der Tierhaltung zu reduzieren. Wie können aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse optimal in der Praxis umgesetzt werden? Und inwieweit kann die Tierernährung die Reduzierung von Antibiotika wirklich beeinflussen?
Referenten sind: Dr. Hyun Lillehoj, Prof. Mick Bailey, Alexandra de Athayde
   
Session 3: Übertragung, Kontrolle und Monitoring von Antibiotikaresistenzen
Was sind die jüngsten Erkenntnisse und Rahmenbedingungen zu den verschiedenen Einflussfaktoren auf Antibiotikaresistenzen in der Nutztierhaltung? Was sind die aktuellen methodischen Herausforderungen und Wissenslücken? Wie sollten die Kriterien für ein optimales Monitoring aussehen?
Referenten sind: Dr. Noelle Noyes, Dr. Pierre-Alexandre Beloeil
   
Session 4: Antibiotikaeinsatz und Stallmanagement aus praktischer Sicht
Wann und in welchem Umfang ist der Einsatz von Antibiotika in der Praxis sinnvoll? Ist es möglich das Tierwohl ohne Antibiotika Einsatz aufrecht zu erhalten? Wie lässt sich die Biosicherheit im Betrieb mit der Tiergesundheit, Leistung und Antibiotika Einsatz verknüpfen?
Referenten sind: Prof. Jens Peter Nielsen, Prof. Nicole Kemper, Prof. Jeroen Dewulf
   
Session 5: Lösungen von morgen und zukünftige Trends
Sollten wir dem Konzept des „Precision Livestock Farming“ hoffnungsvoll entgegenblicken? Wie könnten moderne Züchtungskonzepte zu krankheitsresistenten Nutztieren beitragen? Welche Rolle spielen Futtermittel für die Tiergesundheit und Langlebigkeit?
Referenten sind: Prof. Tomas Norton, Dr. Pieter Knap, Dr. Simon Lillico, Dr. Eva-Maria Saliu
   

Referenten

Dr. Ferdinand Entenfellner

Tierarztpraxis Entenfellner GmbH

Dr. Hyun Lillehoj

USDA

Prof. Jeroen Dewulf

Ghent University

Prof. Mick Bailey

University of Bristol

Prof. Nicole Kemper

TiHO Hannover

Dr. Noelle Noyes

University of Minnesota

Dr. Pieter Knap

Genus-PIC

Dr. Simon Lillico

The Roslin Institute

Dr. Tomas Norton

KU Leuven

Kaesler Research Award

Die Postersession des Kaesler Research Award gibt einen Einblick in die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse von internationalen Universitäten und Instituten. Strategien und Ideen rund um die Antibiotikareduktion bei Wiederkäuern, Schweinen und Geflügel sind hochwillkommen.

Nachwuchswissenschaftler haben die Möglichkeit, ihre Forschung als Poster dem kritischen Auge des wissenschaftlichen Beirats, aber auch Experten aus der Industrie während der Veranstaltung vorzustellen.

 

Abstract einreichen

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Jürgen Zentek

Freie Universität Berlin

Prof. Paolo Trevisi

Bologna University

Prof. Cristina Castillo

University of Santiago de Compostela

Prof. Lothar Kreienbrock

Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

Prof. Charlotte Lauridsen

University of Aarhus

In Kooperation mit